What do Girl Boss, Boss Babe & Vocal Fry all have in common?

Lany Sullivan
Site Admin

What do Girl Boss, Boss Babe & Vocal Fry all have in common?

Unread post by Lany Sullivan » Mon Jan 18, 2016 2:45 pm

The terms Girl Boss, Boss Babe, Mompreneur have taken over social media in the last few years. Frankly, I'm annoyed. Then there is the uptalk/upspeak and vocal fry that has taken over our speech. WTF is going on ladies? When did we decide to demean who we are as women?

I am not an old school feminist, but I AM a powerful business owner, community founder, excellent networker, YouTuber who just happens to be a woman. Girl Boss, Boss Babe and Mompreneur would make me sound less than I am. It automatically demeans who you are as a woman and all the things that you have done, are doing and will do. I was a girl 20 years ago. Today I am a woman who has accomplished much, lived a life full of successes anf failures, drinks wine by the bottle and coffee by the pot.

Then there is this thing called vocal fry? We had upspeak back in the day (it's still around though). Do you vocal fry? Apparently, it's supposed to be a good thing, but there are many who would disagree and you can count me in that number. I don't want to sound like a Kardashian. NO THANK YOU!

This crap is annoying and we as women are doing ourselves a disservice by using these terms or speaking like this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YEqVgtLQ7qM

What do you all think of these terms?

This topic actually started on Facebook, but I had to move it over here to see what you all think?
Attachments
BossBabe-Forum.png
BossBabe-Forum.png (325.53 KiB) Viewed 1393 times

Lany Sullivan
Management, Marketing, Events

lanysullivan.com

Sheryl Loch

Re: What do Girl Boss, Boss Babe & Vocal Fry all have in common?

Unread post by Sheryl Loch » Wed Jan 20, 2016 11:32 am

I call Bull Shit on all this!